May 072015
CITRENZ Background:
The Computing and Information Technology Research and Education New Zealand (CITRENZ) was formed as an organisation in 2010 following a review of the role of the the National Advisory Committee on Computing Qualifications (NACCQ).

The NACCQ was founded in 1988 as a result of a review of the national qualifications in data processing and information technology… [more]

CITRENZ is an unincorporated society with charitable status. To see the details of the organisation on the charities commission web site click here.

Rules & Regulations
These rules and regulations govern CITRENZ at present however they are being updated in light of the new MROQ Programmes of Study. They will be completed when we have clarification from NZQA on collaborative accreditation and approval.
Download Rules & Regs

The Journal of Applied Computing and Information Technology (JACIT) is an open-access online journal with a focus on new and emerging research related to applied computing and information technology… [more]

Important information for employers
needing people with computing skills

A booklet is available containing information for employers about computing and information technology qualifications offered by New Zealand polytechnics and institutes of technology. .. [download PDF]

Job Vacancies
Have a job vacancy? Post a job advert here! Looking for a position? Visit the Forum! … [more]

Oct 142014

Student Poster

(judged on quality of poster and extended abstract)

Winner: Jagdees Pillai (supervised by Steve Cosgrove and Diane Strode)

  • Commendation: Daniel Bathurst (supervised by Trevor Nesbit)
  • Commendation: Bernard McBrearty (supervised by Chris McCarthy)
  • Commendation (for multiple supervisions): Paul Admiraal
  • Commendation (for multiple supervisions): Alison Clear
  • Commendation (for multiple supervisions): Sam Mann
  • Commendation (for multiple supervisions): Trevor Nesbit

Staff Poster

(judged on quality of poster and extended abstract)

Winner: Graeme Legg and Premalatha Sampath

  • Commendation: Sunil Bedi
  • Commendation: Susan Scott

Collaborative Research

(authors at different institutions when research conducted)

Winner: Alison Clear and Tony Clear

Educational Innovation

(evaluation of innovative educational approach)

Winner: Trevor Nesbit, Bill O’Steen and Tim Bell

  • Commendation: Diane McCarthy and Rob Oliver

Best Paper

Winner: Aaron Steele and Tony Rickards

  • Commendation: Sandra Cleland

Fellow of CITRENZ: Sam Mann

The CITRENZ community has expressed a strong desire to recognize Sam Mann’s contribution to IT education and research in general, and CITRENZ in particular, by conferring a Fellowship on him. This is an honour that has been conferred on very few people in the 26 year history of CITRENZ and its predecessor, NACCQ.
In Sam’s case, it recognizes
• his leadership in CITRENZ and Otago Polytechnic
• his response to challenges, such as NZQA’s Mandated Review of Qualifications
• his contribution to research in IT education, particularly in joint publications
• his unstinting support of colleagues and students
• his staunch advocacy of the importance of sustainability
• his innovations in teaching, industry projects and applied research